Rocky Rhythms and Counterlines, with Cookie Segelstein ONLINE

This klezmer workshop, presented by KlezCalifornia and co-presented by Chochmat HaLev, have two themes: We will experiment with rhythmic flexibility and ways to propel melodies to facilitate energy, and we will talk about ways to buzz around the melody, with chords (for melody players) and counterlines for those who usually play accompaniment. The workshop is suitable for people who are at least intermediate on any instrument.

About Cookie Segelstein»

The workshop begins 11am Pacific Time (2pm Eastern Time, 7pm UK, 8pm most Europe, 9pm Israel).

To reserve a space, click here and then at the page scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form.

Those who have registered by Sunday 7am Pacific Time (10am Eastern Time, 3pm UK Time, 4pm most Europe, 5pm Israel) will receive sign-in by 8:10am Pacific Time that day. If you have not heard by then, write a.s.a.p. to workshops@klezcalifornia.org. Please do not wait until just before the workshop begins to notice whether you have the sign-in info.

KlezCalifornia is presenting workshops this Spring and Summer free of charge as a community service during the COVID-19 pandemic. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue our mission to connect you with Yiddish culture.

General information about KlezCalifornia workshops »

This workshop is made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter and Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the Surdna Foundation. We count on registration fees and donations to cover the rest of the expenses.

Event Information

July 26, 2020

11:00 am

Online

KlezCalifornia

Contact Information

KlezCalifornia

Invest in California’s cultural wealth.

Every gift is a commitment to a culture bearer, and the people of California.

DONATE